Curried Monkfish Stew

So my recipe writing is still at epic struggle levels.

😦

Mainly because I hate writing these things out. More so because I don’t measure a damn thing. I freestyle. And then forget what I did. Yeah…I’m always fighting myself, ESPECIALLY when it’s one of those “smack yo’ momma” dishes. *fights air* There were too many of those moments. *see My Delectable Edibles link above*

😦

Despite the fact that my recipes are generally guesstimated, and come together well, I’m working on being a better recipe writer…I really am. I’ll need it for the more elaborate dishes that will be posted soon. With all of that said, feel free to experiment and tweak any of these recipes to your taste. Nothing’s in stone here. Let me know how that works for you.

This dish was inspired by one of my favorite chefs and her fish classes. I don’t have her actual recipe (which I would not post up here anyway), but here is my li’l sumthin’ sumthin’ version.

Ingredients

  • canola or some pale oil (grapeseed, vegetable, or any other oil pale in color)
  • 1 filet of monkfish, clean, pat dry, and cut in to one inch chunks, seasoned with salt and white pepper
  • 1 tablespoon of curry powder
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 fennel bulb, sliced
  • 1 cup white wine
  • 1 to 1 1/2 cup water or stock (chicken, veggie or fish fumet should be fine)
  • handful of kalamata olives, pitted and quartered
  • fennel fronds, for garnish
  • salt and ground white pepper, to taste

Directions

Start by heating a sauté pan, over high heat, until very hot. Add a drizzle of canola oil. Once you see the oil ripple, like water receding into the ocean on the beach, add monkfish to pan. After initial sear (maybe one minute after the fish hits the pan), reduce heat to medium. Sear on both sides until golden brown. Remove from pan. Add a little more oil to pan then add curry powder. Cook curry powder for about two minutes. Add onion and fennel. Sauté for two to three minutes. Remove pan from heat and add wine. Allow wine to reduce until completely evaporated. Add stock or water. Allow to reduce until slightly thickened or desired consistency. Add olives. Finish with fennel fronds for garnish.

Leave a Reply

