Spicy Tomato & Avocado “Gazpacho”

I absolutely refuse to believe that we are in September, that the sky is dark as hell before 8 PM, and that Summer is almost over. *I rebuke you, Lucifer!*

Yeeeeeaaaah, football season has started and I can indulge in the kryptonite and deliciousness that is that sport…like indulging on wangs (yep…wangs) & munching on the thick mens on the screen (yep…mens)…but this is some straight bullisht!

😦

I know. I need to get over it. And will eventually. But I’m hanging on to the little bit of summer that’s left. I’ve been making “gazpacho” for the past month and enjoying it! This is a chilled soup that I’ve enjoyed for transitioning into and out of my juice fast. *Yeah, I’ve been juicing, too. Another post for another day. If I could only juice wings…*

Nevertheless, prep a few ingredients, a simple toss in the blender, and that’s it!

Very simple and full of flavor!

Spicy Tomato and Avocado “Gazpacho” 

Ingredients

3 plum tomatoes, quartered

1/2 avocado, 1/4 chunked and 1/4 sliced (sliced portion is for garnish)

1/2 shallot, sliced

2 teaspoons flavored vinegar (apple cider, sherry, etc. ~ I used hibiscus)

hearty pinch of crushed red pepper

salt and cracked black pepper to taste

extra virgin olive oil for garnish (optional)

additional flavored vinegar for garnish (optional)

Directions

In a small bowl, add shallot, crushed red pepper, and flavored vinegar. Allow shallots to marinate.

Place quartered tomatoes in a blender and pulse until chunky. Add avocado chunks and pulse again until the consistency looks like a coarse purée. You should see small bits of tomato and avocado. Add the shallot marinade to mixture and pulse for a few seconds more. Pour into a bowl and serve. Feel free to garnish with avocado, seasoned with salt, cracked black, and crushed red peppers. I added a side garnish because I loves the avocados. See side garnish instructions below.

Avocado Side Garnish

Fan avocado slices on plate. Drizzle a small amount of extra virgin olive oil, followed by a small drizzle of flavored vinegar. Sprinkle salt, cracked black pepper, and crushed red pepper across avocado slices. And enjoy!

Leave a Reply

