Side Dish: Savory Sweet Potato Gratin

So…recuperating from a helluva weekend where I lost my phone and bag with some essential items in it…including my damn recipe book and flash drive. In a cab. The sanity went with it, but I’m feeling a little less vulnerable…I think. Smdh. Lost everything except my wallet and my house keys. Yet thankful.

Nevertheless, I managed to remember this Savory Sweet Potato Gratin recipe for ya. I never really was a fan of sweet potatoes. I barely like them now, but this almost converted me to eat them more often. Defintely a great (and different) side dish just in time for the holidays, and very easy to make. Of course, this recipe can be applied to regular potatoes.  Don’t have a pic as of yet (will come later) but feel free to check out My Delectable Edibles (see top). I made this gratin with chicken two ways. Should be amongst the last ten pics of the gallery.

Disclaimer: I hate writing out recipes yet I hope this one does some justice for the preparation of this dish. I don’t measure anything so the measurements here are approximated. Like hell.

Happy Cooking!

What cha need:

  • 1 cup of heavy cream or half & half or whatever you choose to use (I used heavy cream)
  • ½ cup of Parmesan cheese (or cheese(s) of your choice…I like my gratin fairly cheesed out so I probably used more than this amount)
  • ½ tsp of salt (maybe a little less due to the saltiness of the cheese)
  • ¼ tsp ground pepper
  • 1 pound of sweet potatoes, peeled and sliced thin with a mandoline (depending on size…I used one large potato that filled a 9-inch cake pan…and I got a decent mandoline/slicer from Bed, Bath & Beyond for less than $20…Progressive is the brand name)
  • A few cloves of roasted garlic, chopped (if you do not have roasted garlic, plain chopped garlic is fine—fresh is preferred)

What cha need to do:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a bowl, combine cream or half & half, cheese, garlic, salt, and pepper. Place potatoes in bowl and ensure each slice is coated in mixture. Transfer potatoes & mixture to a baking dish. Feel free to grease pan with butter or oil prior to transferring potatoes. Cover with aluminum foil but spray/grease the part that will come in contact with the food so the foil doesn’t stick to the top of the gratin. Bake until potatoes are tender, maybe 40 minutes. Told you I’m not good at writing these things. I stuck a knife in the potatoes to check for doneness.

Feel free to sprinkle with more cheese on top, turn the oven up to about 425 degrees and throw back in the oven, without foil, for some more melted cheesed out goodness. I would probably go as far as to stick the gratin in the broiler (make sure your pan/dish is safe for high temps) to melt the cheese quicker and add that browned bubbly goodness on top.

If you wish to try a low fat variation of this, use low fat half & half instead of the regular heavy cream/half & half. You can do the same with the cheese. Should be fine. Let me know how that works out for ya. 🙂

UPDATE: Yes…it is January 3rd…in the year 2013. Took forever. I know. Life happened. Made this yesterday with wilted spinach and a cranberry and goat cheese turkey meatloaf. This gratin is a combination of a beautiful Garnet sweet potato and a yam that I believe was mislabeled as a Jewel yam via my local supermarket. Working on a vegan version and hope to post that up soon.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. SouthernSoulMan says:

    This Dish Gave Me a Savory Conniption! AMAZING!!! 5 STARS!!!!

    1. Ahahahahahahahahahaha! I bet! 😀

Leave a Reply

