Curried Ginger Chile Seitan with Green Peppers over Saffron Quinoa

20111104-074241.jpg

I swear this was good as fuh-duck. Inspired by an awesome friend & Little Dragon’s “Brush The Heat”. This song has inspired many things, including a homemade habanero hot sauce. Recipes forthcoming. *as I continue this revamp*

UPDATE: As promised…and I hate writing recipes but here goes. I made sure to put forth as much effort into this. Hope I did not leave anything out. If you try out this recipe, please let me know if it worked out for you. Feel free to ask questions as well.

Curried Ginger Seitan with Green Peppers & Saffron Quinoa

Whatcha need:

  • 1 package of seitan strips (found these at Whole Foods…only one of the bestest stores ever!)
  • 1 tbsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped fine
  • ¼ cup orange juice
  • ½ cup Ginger People Ginger Chile Sauce (only because I had it and it was about to expire, otherwise I’d make it from scratch)
  • 1 medium green pepper, sliced thin
  • 1 cup of uncooked quinoa
  • 1 hearty pinch of saffron (maybe like a ¼ tsp, if you need a measurement and can’t figure out what a hearty pinch is)
  • Salt/pepper to taste (Kosher or sea salt, please…not that table salt or those seasoning salts…damn! Feel free to use no salt as well.)

Whatcha need to do:

Curried Ginger Seitan with Green Peppers

  • Heat a medium sauce pan with a little oil. Indicator of a hot pan…rippling. Like water receding from shore. (I prefer canola as it has a higher flash point than olive, but you’re eating it so do you. Just keep an eye on it to prevent it from burning.)
  • Sweat garlic until translucent. Be careful not to brown or burn the garlic.
  • Add curry and garam masala. Continue to toss garlic in spice mixture until fragrant.
  • Add seitan and brown.
  • Add orange juice to deglaze the pan, then let reduce slightly. (Sidebar: I had a long, aggravating day. I really try to stay away from the hard liqour and rarely drink it now but had some leftover vodka from my penne a la vodka I made. It did add great flavor. Or it could have been me.)
  • Add ginger chile sauce. The sauce will thicken so feel free to add water to loosen a bit and simmer over low heat.
  • When the sauce has reached your desired consistency in thickness, remove from heat and add green peppers. Allow the residual heat to do the rest. (I like my green peppers close to raw and “critchy crunchy”.)
  • Plate over saffron quinoa and serve. Saffron quinoa recipe follows.

Saffron Quinoa

Follow the directions on the quinoa package. I believe the measurements are usually one cup of quinoa to two cups of water. Bring a pot of water to a boil as you add salt and a hearty pinch of saffron. I used the last of my little bit of saffron so it doesn’t look as “saffrony” (yep…saffrony) as I would have liked. Add quinoa, then reduce to a simmer and cover until the grains have plumped slightly and the spiral has curled from the grain. Again, I like this “critchy crunchy”, but do with it what you will. Should take about 15 minutes.

Fluff with fork then serve.

© Sheedah Dee

2 Comments Add yours

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    wow, this looks amazing! Can’t wait for the recipe!

    1. So Liz…just a heads up. I hate writing recipes but because you are excited about this, I’ll put forth a little more effort. Lol! Thanks for stopping through! It was quite tasty. Surprised my damn self. 🙂

Leave a Reply

